Fin 325, 10/1/2020 QUIZ 2—in class version
30 pts. total
You will get this quiz paper back. Please insert your note page(s) behind this page when done. You MUST enter all your responses in writing (below) AND electronically in your iClicker. (Remember to scroll forward to the next question, after entering each response.)
True/False (2 points for each question, 6 questions, 12 points total)
Indicate whether the sentence or statement is true (write “T” below) or false (“F”). Choose “A” on your iClicker for True responses and “B” for False responses.
North would have earned lower profits had it reduced its marketing expenditure in Year 6.
Project F has a higher IRR however Project G has a higher NPV than Project F at low discount rates.
Multiple Choice (3 points for each question, 6 questions, 18 points total)
Identify the letter of the choice that best completes the statement or answers the question. For numerical problems, choose the response closest to the number you calculate.
What is the present value of all 10 years’ worth of the depreciation tax shields? Assume straight-line depreciation and a discount rate of 10%. (Also assume that the firm is very profitable and can use the full amount of each tax shield in each period, i.e. don’t assume any tax-loss carryforwards.)
|a.||The expected payoff is higher for Bank A, but is riskier. I prefer Bank B.||c.||The expected payoffs are the same, but Bank A is less risky. I prefer Bank A.|
|b.||The expected payoffs are the same, but Bank A is riskier. I prefer Bank B.||d.||In both cases the expected loan payoff is the same: $100 million×0.95=$95.0 million. Consequently, I don’t care which bank I own.|
|a.||The technical infrastructure required to create the Design Your Own Doll collection may fail.||d.||High fixed costs, for either project, could lead to very poor sales (and thus negative profits) in the event the economy enters a recession.|
|b.||The Match My Doll Collection project may be overpriced and cause NHDC to miss its marketing opportunity.||e.||All of the risks listed here are systematic risks.|
|c.||One of the key managers, for either project, could leave the company for a better job elsewhere, thus damaging the project’s performance.|
Find the Chi unit cost for team West. Given that the Chi variable cost is $30,000 per unit, find the overhead cost per unit. What % of the selling price for team West is the overhead cost per unit?
Finance 325, Fa 20, Quiz 2
A given change in interest rates will have a greater impact on a longer maturity security.
IRR is better than payback.
If the return is truly risk-free, then its return does not change at all and therefore covaries with nothing.
The percentage change is “(New – Old)/Old”, if you like to remember it that way.
They spent money on Marketing getting Bonus orders that they couldn’t fill anyway (see the Lost Orders on Beta). They’d have made higher profits had they spent less in marketing.
The IRR rule would say to choose Project F as it has a higher IRR. However, at low discount rates, anyone choosing Project F would be making a mistake as Project G has higher NPV at lower discount rates.
Depreciate $500K over 10 years, or $50K/year. 7 years depreciation is $350K, thus book value is 550K – 350K = 200K.
Depreciate $500K over 10 years, or $50K/year. There is a tax benefit of depreciation of 21% of $50K, or $10,500, each year for 10 years.
The present value of the tax shield is a 10-year annuity at 10%
PV = ($10.5/0.10)(1 – 1/1.10^10) = $64.5K
[Note that this problem assumes that the asset is depreciated for tax purposes over 10 years. Current law (2020) allows for immediate expensing, which amounts to straight-line depreciation over 1 year, if you want to think about it that way. However, the current law is very likely to change over the next few years.
With a coefficient of -1, the portfolio standard deviation can get as low as 0. The graphs are:
A..rho equals -1.0
B..rho equals -0.5
C..rho equals 0.0
D..rho equals 0.5
E..rho equals +1.0
A diversified investor cannot diversify the risk of a bad economy. It’s likely to affect most of the stocks in his/her portfolio.
On the other hand, if a diversified investor owns shares in 500 companies, certainly some of those firms will run into various technical, personnel, and pricing problems. But all 500 firms won’t simultaneously run into such problems, i.e. these are firm-specific, diversifiable risks.
You are given a price of $110K and 319 units sold, thus revenue is $110K(319) = $35.09M. Given that you have the Gross Profit for West, COGS total is therefore $35,090,000 – $20,820,004 = $14,269,996 which works out to $44,734 per unit. Overhead is therefore $44,734-$30K = $14,734 per unit of 14.734/110 = 13.4%.
Notice that the contribution margin is high for Chi, $110K – $30K of variable cost, or $80K per unit. When doing an analysis of whether it’s worth it to obtain more sales, you should focus on the incremental sales margin from each additional sale, or $80K per unit.
Delivering a high-quality product at a reasonable price is not enough anymore.
That’s why we have developed 5 beneficial guarantees that will make your experience with our service enjoyable, easy, and safe.
You have to be 100% sure of the quality of your product to give a money-back guarantee. This describes us perfectly. Make sure that this guarantee is totally transparent.Read more
Each paper is composed from scratch, according to your instructions. It is then checked by our plagiarism-detection software. There is no gap where plagiarism could squeeze in.Read more
Thanks to our free revisions, there is no way for you to be unsatisfied. We will work on your paper until you are completely happy with the result.Read more
Your email is safe, as we store it according to international data protection rules. Your bank details are secure, as we use only reliable payment systems.Read more
By sending us your money, you buy the service we provide. Check out our terms and conditions if you prefer business talks to be laid out in official language.Read more